Press Release

Josh Stein For North Carolina Announces Slate Of More Than 100 New Endorsers

Today, the coalition of supporters for Josh Stein’s campaign for governor of North Carolina is growing – with more than 100 new local leaders, including 40 faith leaders, announcing their endorsement of Josh Stein. The group includes Reverend Dr. Jay Augustine, former State Representative and Senior Pastor James Gailliard, County Commissioner Melvin ‘Skip’ Alston, Fayetteville City Councilman Mario Bennevente, and Rabbi Fred Gutman. The news comes on the heels of the Durham Committee on the Affairs of Black People throwing its support behind Josh and a record-breaking fundraising announcement, underscoring the campaign’s strength at the start of 2024.

“I am proud and grateful to receive the support of so many servant leaders who are working for a better and brighter future for North Carolina,” said Attorney General and candidate for Governor Josh Stein. “From growing the economy and strengthening our public schools, to keeping our communities safe and protecting people’s fundamental rights and freedoms, we can deliver for North Carolinians together and keep moving our state forward.” 

“As Attorney General, Josh Stein has been bold in his pursuit of justice for North Carolinians,” said Guilford County Commissioner Melvin “Skip” Alston. “I am confident that he will continue to pursue justice and equity as our next governor.”

“In these times of division and polarization, we need leaders who see the humanity in each individual,” said pastor and former state representative James Gailliard. “Josh Stein will lead our state from a place of heart, courage, and conviction.” 

These new endorsers join more than 150 of North Carolina’s current and former elected officials who have previously pledged their support for Josh. The new group includes: 

Reverend Paul L. Anderson

Pastor Surluta Anthony

Rev. Dr. Jay Augustine

Pastor Walter Bowers

Pastor Quintrell Burrell

Pastor Tony Cozart

Pastor Michael Cromartie

Dr. Betty Erwin

Rabbi Fred Guttman

Pastor J Russell Harris

Reverend Terry Henry

Reverend Dr. Pamela Holder

Reverend Dr. Abdue Knox

Reverend Larry McDonald

Apostle Aaron McNair

Rabbi Eric Solomon 

Reverend Dr. Dewayne Walker

Reverend C. Rashard Alexander

Reverend William Steven Allen, Sr

Dr. Cornelius E. Battle, Sr.

Dr. B. Angeloe Burch Sr.

Rabbi Judy Cohen-Rosenberg 

Rabbi Lucy Dinner 

Pastor James D. Gailliard

Rabbi Daniel Greyber

Pastor Wallice Hairston

Rev. Rodvegas Marc Ingram Sr.

Reverend Marc Lavarin

Dr. Dennis Leach Sr. 

Rev. Dr. Charlotte Leach

Reverend Kojo Nantambu

Pastor Monica Redmond

Reverend Dr. David Rosby 

Bishop Mark Rowden

Rabbi Jenny Solomon 

Reverend Austin Vernon

Reverend Charles E. Walton

Reverend Archer Wilkins 

Commissioner Skip Alston 

Commissioner Leigh Altman 

Commissioner Corey Ballance 

Commissioner Red Belfield, Jr. 

Commissioner Dan Besse

Commissioner Ed Booth 

Commissioner Linda Brewer

Commissioner Vernon J. Bryant 

Commissioner Pauline Campbell 

Commissioner Kay Cashion 

Commissioner Tony Cozart 

Commissioner JoAnne Daniels 

Commissioner Kelvin Edwards 

Commissioner J. Carlvena Foster 

Commissioner Amy Fowler 

Commissioner Darrel “BJ” Gibson, Jr. 

Commissioner Franklin Gomez Flores 

Commissioner Ann Floyd Huggins 

Commissioner Wendy Jacobs 

Commissioner Mark Jerrell 

Commissioner Carolyn Johnson 

Commissioner Veronica B. Jones 

Commissioner Frankie T. Jones, Jr. 

Commissioner Jerry Langley 

Commissioner Andre Lassiter 

Commissioner Kelli A. London 

Commissioner Althea Riddick 

Commissioner Susan Rodriguez-McDowell

Commissioner Ray Russell 

Commissioner Parker Sloan 

Commissioner Mark Speed 

Commissioner Wixie Stephens 

Commissioner Allen Thomas 

Commissioner Larry Turnbrow 

Commissioner Charlie Wallin 

Commissioner Ron Wessan 

Commissioner Leonard Wiggins 

Commissioner Malishai Woodbury 

Former Court of Appeals Justice Robert Hunter 

City Councilwoman Courtney Banks-McLaughlin

Mayor Christy Clark 

Mayor Walter Eccard 

City Councilwoman Betsy Ervin 

City Councilman Steve Evans 

Mayor Patrick Fitzsimmons 

Former City Councilman Justin Outling 

Former City Councilman Charlie Reece

City Councilwoman Hazel Thornton 

Former Mayor Ian Balutis 

Mayor Harry Baughn 

Mayor Mark Bell 

City Councilman Mario Benavente

Town Councilwoman Renée Cahoon 

Former Mayor Gail Dunham 

Former City Councilmember Julie Eiselt 

City Councilman Matt Hughes 

City Councilman Robert J. Kellogg 

Former Mayor Port L. McAteer 

Mayor Chris Neal 

City Councilman Steve Rao 

City Councilman Carl Rist 

City Councilwoman Sheneika Smith 

City Councilman Chris J. Suggs

City Councilwoman Denise Sullivan 

City Councilman Derrick Thompson 

Town Councilwoman Betty Wright 

Former State Representative John Bridgeman

Representative Gloristine Brown 

State Representative Becky Carney 

State Representative Carolyn Logan 

Former State Representative Joe Sam Queen 

Former State Senator Terry Van Duyn